Plant Progress

Out at Kapiti, the label sticks blew off the seedlings. So I have anonymous seedlings.

There are too many in each little organic pot, too, even though we sowed some of them one-by-one, with tweezers. This is how they looked last week–

lots of little ones

And they’re not growing quickly. Even when I transfer them to bigger pots. But some of their leaves are differentiating more. That’s fabulous. But because my only pictures of them are of their flowers, I don’t know what the leaves mean.

differentiate

Except for the basil. Those are the bigger seedlings in the round pots below.

people prefer basil etc

The single seedling in the big round pot at the top of the image is a courgette.

Someone told me that if we cut off the top and bottom of a used tin and place it over a vulnerable-to-slugs plant, slugs will stay away. So that courgette is sitting inside its tin-frame, inside its biodegradable pot, so it will be safe (I hope) when a friend takes it home.

I think the tiniest seedlings are thyme, which took a while to germinate. A bit like parsley, which I know takes AGES.

Leave a Reply

