Thank You, Bee-Lovers on Social Media!

I saw a pale honey bee on the lavender. Then another. Thin. Then a bumble. And then something new, on the calendula. So I tweeted. And loved this conversation that followed, with someone who was new to me–

Screenshot 2015-05-12 14.55.01

And more or less at the same time, this conversation on Instagram– which I’ve just joined – with someone else I’d never heard of before.

Screenshot 2015-05-12 14.58.46

And as I enjoyed these interchanges I thought of the NZ Beekeepers Forum, which I joined a while back. And asked there. And trusted a contributor’s precise response.

Screenshot 2015-05-12 15.01.32

I feel very grateful to the apps and forums available online and to the people who use them. This was so useful.

I have another eristalis tenax in the garden today. And because it’s a beneficial pollinator I welcome it.

Leave a Reply

