More Spring

IMG_0100
quince blossom above Oriental Bay

I went away. And iCloud lost all my photos, including some of an amazing beekeeper on Waiheke Island and his honeys.

And the weather’s been awful. And I’ve been busy with other work. But spring continued anyway.

IMG_0134
a tui in our apple blossom

The bees are back and I’m gardening when I can.

IMG_0192
blue borage, forget-me-not, poppies & calendula

In one part of the garden, all those open-pollinated seeds from last year grew, flowered and went to seed. Those seeds became a stunning early spring show of poppies, calendula, alyssum, borage (white and blue), night scented stock.

IMG_0204
night scented stock, beginning cornflowers,white borage, alyssum

And, of course, the lavender is still there.

IMG_0190

Out on the zigzag, new seeds have sprouted and the hollyhocks are growing.

IMG_0200
the growing hollyhocks, other flower seedlings, flowering geranium, some shepherd’s purse and in the background a kaka beak (just finished flowering)

This year, around the hugelkultur, I’m experimenting again, as I work with the seasonal arcs of the sun, very different than on the other side of the zigzag.

I’ve emulated the neighbours and tried pumpkins, some seedlings for me, some for them. Bees love those big yellow blossoms.

IMG_0008

The tin cans and other (homemade) metal circles are to deter slugs and snails, which don’t like sharp things. Also cats and birds.

IMG_0202
pumpkin seedlings on the hugelkultur

The wire netting helped with some new seedlings. But the birds got under this wire netting and pulled at my Biogro pots, even though the pots were buried. That killed a bean plant or two, alas. The birds scratched out almost all the coriander, too.

IMG_0199
climbing beans and the remains of the biogro pots the birds destroyed

And this morning, I’ll plant the very last of the pumpkins and some coriander someone gave me.

IMG_0196

Off up the path I go, past the bees already busy in the blossom. Into the spring(ish) day.

IMG_0194

After breakfast.

2 thoughts on “More Spring”

  1. Lovely blog write-up, enjoyed. Hugel culture is something I want to try next spring/summer. Sorry about you losing your photos in Icloud, gosh I would hate that myself. Your garden is looking great, wishing you well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Best of luck with the hugelkultur, I’ll look forward to reading about what you do and how they work for you. I find them intriguing and will be interested to discover how they work if we have the expected long dry summer. At the moment it seems to be absorbing a significant leak quite well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

