Honey from the Cameron Family Farms

IMG_1188

Greytown , in the Wairarapa, is about an hour away by train. I visited for a treat, with two film-loving and feminist mates.

IMG_0024

Greytown is old and beautiful, with amazing shops. I loved Emporos & Just William, where there were ceramic and other kitchen things, children’s books and toys and (yes!)  restored garden tools.

18898318

We visited Rachel Priestley’s La Pancetta, an Italian wine bar, deli and restaurant, where I stocked up on some of her deli meats and her olive oil (lots of olive groves in the Wairarapa).

IMG_1296

In another shop I lusted after leather armchairs from Italy. Later,  I bought a New Zealand version of a French walnut opener.

IMG_1251

James Cameron (former husband of  Kathryn Bigelow and director of Avatar etc) and his family have settled in the Wairarapa and run the Cameron Family Farms. We had lunch at their Food Forest Organics cafe and shop, which has accommodation attached if you want to spend the night.

IMG_1185

We ate lunch outside, round the back.

IMG_1182

It was lovely. And the gardens were dry. Like mine. And many of the plantings were the same.

IMG_1174

Not a lot of bees.

IMG_1180

But there were some wonderful honey products in the shop. Vegan lip balm, even! (I know some people don’t view bee products as vegan. I’m not sure I do either, but I’m not a vegan so what do I know?)

I loved these little bee soaps.

IMG_1256

And as for the honey… It’s ages since I’ve seen honey comb on sale.

IMG_1165

I bought some premium manuka honey. All gone now. It was delicious. Full of nutrients. A meal in itself. But I think they need a round jar, because it was impossible to reach the honey in the corners.

IMG_1266

 

Leave a comment